

Media Release

PROFESSIONAL TEACHERS' COUNCIL NEW SOUTH WALES CONTACT: David Browne (02) 9716 0378

30 October 2020

Celebration of Excellence

Friday 30 October 2020 is World Teachers' Day and the Professional Teachers' Council New South Wales (PTC NSW) joins the media in the recognition and celebration of our teachers across all sectors and systems in NSW and the teaching profession.

World Teachers' Day acknowledges the professionalism and dedication of teachers and their invaluable contribution to the future of our society through their professional teaching associations.

"The best thing about being a teacher is that it matters. The hardest thing about being a teacher is that it matters every day"-Todd Whittaker.

"World Teachers' Day is an opportunity to publicly acknowledge the work of all teachers. It is also a time to express gratitude to the many volunteer teaching associations and show them how much they are valued," said Dr Denis Mootz, President of PTC NSW.

"It is the opportunity for the community to reflect on and acknowledge the vital and challenging work that all teachers do" Dr Mootz said.

In recognition of the outstanding work teachers undertake through their professional teaching associations the Professional Teachers' Council NSW awards the prestigious **Outstanding Professional Service Awards (OPSA)** as an acknowledgment of excellence in the profession.

The **Outstanding Beginning Teacher Award (OBTA)** recognises the outstanding professional contribution by an individual committee member (of a professional teachers' Association) with five or less years teaching experience in education in NSW.

These awards acknowledge the outstanding professional contribution to education made by teachers through Professional Teaching Associations across all sectors and systems of NSW.



The Professional Teachers' Council NSW is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 awards.

Outstanding Professional Service Award (OPSA) Recipients

Nominating Association	Full Name
Association for Studies of Religion	Catherine Roebuck
Australian Council for Health, Physical Education and Recreation NSW	Luke Adams
Australian Society for Music Education (Inc) NSW Chapter	Thomas Fienburg
Chinese Language Teachers Association NSW	Yaru Wang
Classical Languages Teachers Association	Dr Neil Peters
Economics and Business Educators NSW	Cheryl Brennan
Economics and Business Educators NSW	Andrew Athavle
English Teachers Association NSW	David Martin
Geography Teachers Association of NSW & ACT	Dr Paul Batten
History Teachers Association of NSW	Catherine Bavell
Legal Studies Association of NSW	Natasha Isbel
Legal Studies Association of NSW	Erin Carney
Marine Teachers Association of NSW	Warren Bridge
Mathematical Association of NSW Inc	Maria Quigley
Mathematical Association of NSW Inc	Nordin Zuber
Modern Language Teachers Association NSW	Katiuska Varela Batista
Orff Schulwerk Association of NSW	Joyce Kojevnikov
Science Teachers Association of NSW Inc	Susan Filan
Science Teachers Association of NSW Inc	Oriana Miano
Society and Culture Association of NSW	Julian Floriano
Visual Arts and Design Educators Association	Brian Shand
Visual Arts and Design Educators Association	Lisa Allison

Outstanding Beginning Teacher Award (OBTA) Recipients

Nominating Association	Full Name
Australian Society for Music Education NSW Chapter	Tyler Barnes
English Teachers Association NSW	James Bannerman
Legal Studies Association of NSW	Wendy Campbell
Science Teachers Association of NSW	Ashley Hanning