Media Release – World Teachers Day 2021 – PTC Award Recipients Announced

Media Release


CONTACT: David Browne   (02) 9716 0378

29 October 20201

Celebration of Excellence

Friday 29 October 2021 is World Teachers’ Day and the Professional Teachers’ Council New South Wales (PTC NSW) joins the media in the recognition and celebration of our teachers across all sectors and systems in NSW and the teaching profession.  

World Teachers’ Day acknowledges the professionalism and dedication of teachers and their invaluable contribution to the future of our society through their professional teaching associations.

“The best thing about being a teacher is that it matters. The hardest thing about being a teacher is that it matters every day”-Todd Whittaker.

“World Teachers’ Day is an opportunity to publicly acknowledge the work of all teachers. It is also a time to express gratitude to the many volunteer teaching associations and show them how much they are valued,” said Dr Denis Mootz, President of PTC NSW.

“It is the opportunity for the community to reflect on and acknowledge the vital and challenging work that all teachers do” Dr Mootz said.

In recognition of the outstanding work teachers undertake through their professional teaching associations the Professional Teachers’ Council NSW awards the prestigious Outstanding Professional Service Awards (OPSA) as an acknowledgment of excellence in the profession. 

The Outstanding Beginning Teacher Award (OBTA) recognises the outstanding professional contribution by an individual committee member (of a professional teachers’ Association) with five or less years teaching experience in education in NSW. 

These awards acknowledge the outstanding professional contribution to education made by teachers through Professional Teaching Associations across all sectors and systems of NSW. 

The Professional Teachers’ Council NSW is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2021 awards.

Outstanding Professional Service Award (OPSA) Recipients


Nominating AssociationFull Name
Australian Council for Health, Physical Education and Recreation NSWVeronica Brodgen 
Chinese Language Teachers Association NSWHang Vivien Dong
Dance Educators Professional AssociationLeisa Munns
Economics and Business Educators NSWMai Ni Pham
Educators of Deaf Students Association NSWDr Robyn Cantle Moore
English Teachers Association NSWElizabeth Sofatzis
English Teachers Association NSWMichelle McDonald
English Teachers Association NSWVictoria Keech
Geography Teachers Association of NSW & ACTCatherine Donnelly
ICT EducatorsAmanda Hogan
Mathematical Association of NSW IncJennifer Way
Mathematical Association of NSW IncShane Scott
Mathematical Association of NSW IncSuzie Berry
Modern Language Teachers Association NSWEnri Parolin
NSW Association of French Teachers NSWAnnabel Gassmann
Orff Schulwerk Association of NSWVirginia Esparraga
Society & Culture Association of NSWKristy Petrevski
Technology Educators Association of NSWAllison Beattie
Visual Arts and Design Educators AssociationGemma Baldwin


Outstanding Beginning Teacher Award (OBTA) Recipients


Nominating Association                          Full Name
ICT Educators Carina Gleeson